November 30th at 9:00am CST - November 30th at 10:00am CST

Disparity to Parity to Solidarity: Justice in International Trade & Ag Policy

Join us for a free webinar open to the public on November 30 at 7:00 a.m. PT/9:00 a.m. CT/10:00 a.m. ET; 18:00 Nairobi; 20:30 Delhi. Register for the webinar today! 

Webinar Description 

The Disparity to Parity project has explored issues around agriculture and fairness in the United States, but we have always seen these issues in the broader international context of human rights, globalization and social movements that extend beyond national borders. The concept of parity is grounded in fair prices for farmers, but it extends beyond that to issues of environmental, cultural and social justice for producers and their communities. In this webinar, we will hear from partners around the world about what the concept of parity means in their context, as well as the international policies and agreements that need to be changed. The webinar will be held on the eve of the World Trade Organization Ministerial. It will also honor the successes of the Indian Farmer Protests, as well as plans for the November 26 General Strike in solidarity with the farmers’ demands. We hope it will serve as input for critical reflection on the failures of neoliberal globalization and the need for alternatives that advance food sovereignty and agroecology.

The webinar is hosted by the Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy, the American University Center for Environment, Community, and Equity, and the National Family Farm Coalition.

Speakers 


Register now