April 29th at 4:04pm CDT - May 16th at 5:04pm CDT

With everything up for grabs: the Green New Deal(s) the world needs now

As we move into a new decade, humanity is facing unprecedented challenges. The ongoing climate crisis and the devastating COVID-19 pandemic are reshaping our world, exacerbating inequalities and fuelling the rise of authoritarianism and nationalistic politics.

Recently, a powerful narrative has emerged: the Green New Deal, a powerful call for change that brings with it hopes for delivering deep social and economic transformations. Today, the need for programme(s) that include the comprehensive decarbonisation and restructuring of our economies and social systems while protecting the climate from collapse has become imperative.

This is why the Brussels and New York offices of the Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung have joined forces with Transform Europe to launch a webinar series that focuses on developing internationalist visions for Green New Deal(s) that will work for the whole planet in the post-COVID era. In collaboration with the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives (CCPA), the Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy (IATP) and the Institute for Policy Studies (IPS). Spanish translation will be provided.
 

A new weekly program:

CHAPTER 1: Wednesday, 29 April 2020

11am EDT 5pm CET/10pm ICT
RED-GREEN NEW DEAL(S)
with Walden Bello, Thea Riofrancos and Grace Blakeley

CHAPTER 2: Wednesday, 6 May 2020

10am PDT/1pm EST/7pm CET
STATE INTERVENTION AND PUBLIC SERVICES IN THE POST-COVID ERA
with Mike Davis, Maude Barlow and Martin Schirdewan

 

For more information, visit Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung's website or the event on Facebook