May 21st at 10:00am CDT - May 21st at 11:00am CDT

The Green New Deal(s) the world needs now: Alternative trade rules for climate action

The Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung webinar series Everything up for grabs: The Green New Deal(s) the world needs now continues with a conversation moderated by Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy's Karen Hansen-Kuhn. 


Chapter Three — Alternative trade rules for climate action  

Thursday, May 21 2020 

10 a.m. CST / 11 a.m. EST / 5 p.m. CEST 

The Green New Deal proposals emerging around the world call for transformation of our economies, so they meet the needs of people and the planet. In this session we will explore trade alternatives that go beyond the false choice between right-wing nationalism and neoliberal free trade. How do current trade rules constrain us, and how could alternatives be designed that prioritize human rights and the environment?

Avi Lewis (documentary filmmaker/The Leap, Canada)

Lucia Bárcena (Transnational Institute)

Alberto Arroyo (Convergencia Mexicana Mejor sin TLCs)

Arthur Stamoulis (Citizens Trade Campaign, US)

Moderated by Karen Hansen-Kuhn (Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy)


REGISTER HERE: 
www.rosalux.eu/red-green-new-deal-webinars
 

The Green New Deal(s) the world needs now is an ongoing weekly webinar program is hosted by Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung Brussels office, Rosa Luxemburg Stiftung New York office, Institute for Policy Studies, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives and IATP.