Staff and Advisors

Director of Finance

Melanie Accola is the director of finance at IATP.

Communications Manager and Creative Director

Colleen Borgendale is the communications manager and creative director at IATP.

Operations Manager

Lacey Carlson is the operations manager at IATP.

Media Coordinator

Cecelia is the media coordinator at IATP.

Rural Strategies Advisor

Anna Claussen is an advisor on Rural Strategies at IATP.

Community Food Systems Program Associate

Katie is the Community Food Systems Program Associate.

Program Director

Karen Hansen-Kuhn is the director of IATP's trade and global governance and works in Washington, D.C.

Senior Advisor on China

Jim Harkness is Senior Advisor on China

Senior Advisor

Dr. Dennis Keeney is a senior advisor to IATP on Soil Science and Sustainable Agriculture since 2000 and served as the first director of the Leopold Center for Sustainable Agriculture.


Patti sorts and organizes all of IATP's documents and archives.

Director of Rural Strategies and Climate Change

Ben Lilliston is the director of rural strategies and climate change at IATP. 

Executive Director

Juliette Majot is the executive director of the Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy.

Community Food Systems Program Director

Erin McKee VanSlooten is the program director for IATP's Community Food Systems work.

Grants Manager

Brita Midness is the Grants Manager at IATP.

Senior Program Associate for Climate and Rural Communities

Tara Ritter is a Senior Program Associate with IATP.

Director, IATP Europe

Shefali Sharma is the director of the Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy European office.

Senior Policy Analyst

Dr. Steve Suppan is a senior policy analyst focusing on agriculture, trade and food safety policy.

Senior Attorney

Sharon Anglin Treat is a lawyer and public policy analyst.

Senior Policy Analyst

Shiney Varghese is a public policy analyst focusing on water, agroecology and global governance. 


Rob Wallace is an evolutionary biologist presently visiting the University of Minnesota’s Institute for Global Studies.